Call for Memoranda for a 2 Day Public Hearing on A Bill for an Act to Repeal the Quarantine Act & Enact the Control of Infectious Diseases Act

Posted on: Thu 21-05-2020

Following the resolution of the House of Representatives mandating the Joint House Committees on Healthcare Services, Health Institutions & Justice to conduct a Two Day Public Hearing on A Hill For An Act To Repeal The Quarantine Act And Enact The Control Of Infectious Diseases Act, Make Provisions Relating To Quarantine And Make Regulations For Preventing The Introduction Into And Spread In Nigeria Of Dangerous infectious Diseases, And For Other Related Matters (HR.8:36).

In this regard, we are hereby inviting memoranda from the public and particularly from the under listed stakeholders:

  1. Nigerian Governors Forum.
  2. Federal Ministry of Health.
  3. Federal Ministry of Justice.
  4. Federal Ministry of Women Affairs.
  5. Chief Justice of Nigeria.
  6. World Health Organization (WHO).
  7. Association of Local Government of Nigeria (ALGON)
  8. Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC)
  9. National Primary Healthcare Development Agency (NPHDA).
  10. National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS).
  11. National Agency for Food Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC).
  12. National Human Right Commission.
  13. Nigerian Institute of Medical Research, Yuba.
  14. Nigeria Medical Association (NMA).
  15. Medical and Dental Consultant Association of Nigeria.
  16. Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria
  17. National Association of Resident Doctor (NARD)
  18. Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria
  19. Board of Community Health Practitioners Council
  20. Medical Laboratory Council of Nigeria
  21. Pharmacy Council of Nigeria
  22. Optometry Council of Nigeria
  23. Nigeria Bar Association (NBA)
  24. Nigeria Police Force (NPF)
  25. Nigeria Immigration Services (NIS)
  26. Nigeria Union of Allied Health Professional (NUAHP)
  27. Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN)
  28. Jama’atu Nasril Islam (JNI)
  29. Nigeria Union of Journalist (NUJ)
  30. College of Pathologist of Nigeria
  31. Traditional Rulers of the 6 Geo-Political Zones
  32. Traditional Medicine Association of Nigeria
  33. National Association of Epidemiologists
  34. Nigeria Agriculture Quarantine Service
  35. National Association of Microbiologists
  36. National Association of Chemists
  37. National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNAM)
  38. Public Health Practitioners
  39. Association of Airline Operators
  40. Port Health Workers
  41. Shippers Council of Nigeria
  42. Vessel Owners Association
  43. Magistrate Associatin of Nigeria
  44. Lab. Scientist Association of Nigeria
  45. African Union through African Centre for Disease Control
  46. Dangote Foundation
  47. UNICEF
  48. Pharmaceutical Association of Nigeria
  49. National Council of Women Society (NCWC)
  50. Representative of Coalition of Civil Societies (CSOs)
  51. General Public

The Committee would also appreciate inputs from the intellectual class such as the Universities and Research Insitutions

We humbly request that you send one (1) soft copy in a flash drive and fifty (50) hard copies of each typed memorandum which should be addressed to the Deputy Director/Clerk Joint Committees on Healthcare services, Health Institutions & Justice in H102, after Committee Rom 17, 1st Floor, white House, House of Representatives Wings, National Assembly Complex, Abuja not later than Monday 1st June 2020. Receipt of Memoranda will end on Friday 5th June 2020. While the public Hearing will commence as follows:

Date: Wednesday 10th and Thursday 11th June 2020

Time: 10am daily

Venue: Conference Room 028, Zero Floor, New Building, of Representative Wing, National Assembly Complex, Abuja

Please note that the public Hearing will be conducted in line with COVID-19 Nigeria Centre for Disease Control

(NCDC) guidelines with strict adherence to wearing of face mask and observance of physical distancing

The general public is also advised to follow the public hearing on the following social media Accounts: YouTube live, Facebook and Twitter.


Hon. Dr. Yusuf Tanko Sununu

Chairman House Committee on Healthcare service

Hon. Pascal Obi

Chairman House Committee on Health Institution

Hon. Ugonna Ozuruigbo

Chairman House Committee on Justice

For further details contact the Deputy Director/Committee  

Clerk, Mrs. Joyce Anietie Umoren on 08065923157