National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives Ogun State Council Notification of Withdrawal of Service

Posted on: Tue 13-04-2021

The Honourable Commissioner for Health,

Ministry of Health,




Recent Kidnapping of Health Workers after rendering their services to the good citizen of Ogun State is disheartening, repugnant and unacceptable.

The said Doctor and Nurse were precisely abducted on 7th of April making it 6 days in incarceration. It is appalling that the Government’s approach of not negotiating with the kidnappers have left us to believe our lives and security is of no essence to this Government.

The Government has shown no commitment towards the release of our members and no guarantee on the Lives and Security of other health workers.

Today another Dental Therapist working at General Hospital, Ijebu-Igbo was abducted on her way to work. Thereby, it is evident that the security of lives and properties of the citizens of the State is way out of the control of the control of the Government.

In the light of the above, it is glaring, that the safety of the Health workers is no longer guaranteed.

The joint committee of NMA and NANNM resolved as follows:

  1. The Lives of our members which the Government cannot guarantee is sacrosanct.
  2. The Government has not shown enough commitment to the safe release of our incarcerated members.
  3. Immediate withdrawal of the services of our members from all Institutions until the safety of our member is guaranteed. Effective from  12 Midnight, 13th April, 2021.

We do hope that the government will make the security of lives and properties a matter of priority and see to it immediately.


Dr. Olodayo Ogunlaja

Chairman NMA

Nurse Roseline Solorin

Chairman NANNM


PS, Ministry of Health

The Director, Hospitals Services HMB

The Director, Hospitals Services MoH

Director, Nursing Service HMB

Director, Nursing Service MoH

CMD, Federal Medical Centre Abeokuta

Deputy Director, Nursing Services FMC

Provost and Medical Director NPH, Aro, Abk

Deputy Director, Nursing Services NPH, Aoro, Abk

Chairman, Local Government Services Commission Oke-Mosan Abk

CMD, OOUTH, Sagamu

Deputy Director, OOUTH, Sagamu.